University of Florida Homepage

Graduate Memorial Scholarships

O. Ruth McQuown Graduate Scholarship Award


All materials are due by February 22 of each year. Students must be registered Fall 2019 to receive the award.


Please submit complete applications electronically to Arlene Williams by the deadline. Only emailed submissions will be accepted. Letters of recommendation may be sent separately by email directly to Previous recipients are not eligible to apply.

Successful applicants must demonstrate excellence in academic achievement in one or more of the qualifying disciplines. Among other qualifications, reviewers will favorably consider, regardless of an applicant’s own race or gender:

  • an applicant’s commitment to break down barriers, create a welcoming environment, and include individuals who are racial minorities or women (or otherwise reflect broad diversity) in academic, co-curricular, and/or research endeavors
  • an applicant’s success in overcoming barriers—or helping others to overcome barriers (including low socio-economic background)—to academic achievement; and
  • an applicant’s commitment to contribute to the student’s university, local or larger community. We will holistically and individually assess applicants under all criteria to select those students who best qualify.

Looking for the undergraduate McQuown Scholarship?

Cynthia W. Colangelo Award for Breast Cancer Awareness

This award supports students in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences who are actively involved in the fight against breast cancer through community service and activities. Learn more. Award amounts will vary from $250-$1000 per recipient, depending on the number of selected recipients. Recipient(s) will be selected each spring semester on the basis of a personal essay.


All materials are due by February 23 of each year.


  • Application (PDF)
  • Curriculum Vita (CV)
  • Personal essay detailing applicant’s breast cancer awareness activities and thoughts (500 words or fewer)

Looking for the undergraduate Colangelo Award?